DIY: Free/Scrap Horse Jumps

So, I really miss jumping. Years ago I did eventing and loved it. Recently I’ve been increasingly obsessed with training Ink to jump. So naturally, as I was walking past the pile of scrap wood yesterday, I saw potential jumps…

image

There are a few chunks of treated 4x4s, a couple treated 2x6s, and a bunch of reclaimed 2x8s from our old bridge, still in good shape.

Now, I am far from a carpenter. There were many a stripped screw on this project! I’m not claiming this is the best way to make jumps, but rather demonstrating that you can make stuff for free if you’re creative!

I cut 4 pieces of 2×6 to make the tops of triangles for a coop jump.

image

Then I connected them with a small chunk of wood and also screwed into each other at the top. I cut the sharp pointy top off.

image

image

Then I screwed them into the chunks of 4×4, intentionally starting a bit higher than the bottom to prevent the non treated wood from contacting the ground.

image

Outside shown on the left, inside on the right.

Then I screwed on the 2×8 boards.

image

image

Then the same on the other side, and voila!

image

It has enough gap down the middle to add brush. I’m going to keep an eye out for free/broken artificial Christmas trees…

image

I’m really happy with how the coop turned out.

I also made a mini wall that can be a stand alone tiny jump or filler under a normal jump. This one is really simple, just chunks of 4×4 on the ground and vertical 2x6s, offset for balance:

image

Then I attached 2x8s to the front. At which point I realized that I had attached the vertical pieces to the same sides of the 4x4s, so it is not symmetrical. I wanted to fix it, however, I had stripped out the screws and couldn’t get them out, so I left it. It may not be pretty, but it will do the job!

image

Now to ride the pony! :)

image

Ink was really good for her first official jump school. Such a fun horse! <3

image

4 Comments

  1. Thanks again Kirrily. I’m going to get busy on this right after Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job on making the jumps. They really are fantastic! Enjoy jumping! Happy Christmas! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is always wood hanging around needing a new purpose and this is a great way to use it. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for this! Sending it to my hubby now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

